Medicine And Allied Sciences

Maharashtra NEET PG Fee Structure 2026: Private College Fees Explained

Educational infographic by Career Plan B titled "Maharashtra NEET PG Fee Structure 2026: Private College Fees Explained". Top-left features the Career Plan B logo with a green bird inside a solid gold circular emblem with text below, alongside a testing agency logo at the top center. Right side illustrates a private medical college building in the background, with stacked books, a "FEE STRUCTURE" document, stacked coins, and a calculator in the foreground.

The Maharashtra NEET PG fee structure 2026 ranges from around ₹1.25 lakh a year in government colleges to over ₹65 lakh a year in top deemed universities. A single course can cost three to five times more in the institutional or NRI quota than in the state quota at the same college. This gap catches out thousands of candidates every counselling season, so this guide breaks down Maharashtra NEET PG fees private colleges charge, quota by quota and college by college, using FRA-approved figures and verified 2026-27 fee revisions.

How Maharashtra Decides Its NEET PG Fee Structure

Maharashtra’s Fees Regulating Authority (FRA): Sometimes called the FRC in casual usage — determines and approves fees for eligible unaided private professional colleges under the Maharashtra Unaided Private Professional Educational Institutions Act, 2015. The FRA reviews each institution’s audited costs, infrastructure, and salary expenditure, then sets an annual fee ceiling that the college cannot exceed for regulated seats. This is why Maharashtra FRC medical college fees (as most students still call them) differ so widely from one MUHS-affiliated private college to the next.

Deemed universities work differently: The 2015 Act specifically excludes institutions declared as deemed universities from its definition of a “private professional educational institution.” Deemed colleges — DY Patil, Bharati Vidyapeeth, MGM, Krishna Vishwa Vidyapeeth, and Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College Wardha among them — set their own notified fee structures and are 100% counselled by the Medical Counselling Committee (MCC), not the state CET Cell.

Two separate bodies run PG admissions in Maharashtra:

  • The State Common Entrance Test (CET) Cell, Maharashtra conducts counselling for 50% state quota seats in government colleges and 100% of seats (state + institutional + NRI) in FRA-regulated private (non-deemed) colleges.
  • The Medical Counselling Committee (MCC) conducts the 50% All India Quota (AIQ) in government colleges and 100% of deemed-university PG seats.

Candidates who completed MBBS from a Maharashtra-recognised institution qualify for state quota seats through the CET Cell. Non-domicile candidates can compete through MCC’s deemed-university counselling or through the institutional/NRI quota at FRA-regulated private colleges. This is why the Maharashtra NEET PG private college fee structure 2026 looks so different depending on which quota and which counselling route a candidate enters through.

Maharashtra NEET PG Fees by Quota Type

FRA-regulated private colleges split their PG seats into three pricing tiers. Under the FRA norms notified for postgraduate programmes, 50% of seats sit in the state merit quota (CET Cell, FRA base fee), 35% sit in the management/institutional quota, and 15% sit in the NRI quota, with the institutional and NRI seats priced as a multiple of the base fee.

Quota Type Who Gets It Fee Multiple of Base FRA Fee Approx. Seat Share (PG)
State Quota (Merit) Maharashtra-domicile candidates through CET Cell 1× (base FRA-approved fee) 50%
Management / Institutional Quota Maharashtra-domicile candidates, allotted via CET Cell at a higher fee tier Up to 3× the base fee 35%
NRI Quota NRI candidates and specified sponsored relatives Up to 5× the base fee 15%

A note on the multiplier: Maharashtra’s FRA revised the PG institutional-quota multiplier down from 4× to 3× in mid-2025 to bring it in line with other professional courses, while keeping the NRI multiplier at 5×. As of September 2026, student groups and the state government are actively reviewing this 3×/5× structure again, so candidates should confirm the current approved multiple on the FRA portal before budgeting. Deemed universities are not bound by this FRA multiplier at all — their institutional and NRI fees follow the university’s own notified schedule.

For Personalized Guidance

Maharashtra NEET PG Private College Fee Structure 2026: College-Wise Breakdown

Government PG Colleges (For Comparison)

Most state government and municipal medical colleges — Grant Medical College, Seth GS Medical College, BJ Medical College Pune, Topiwala National Medical College, and similar institutions — charge a base tuition fee of roughly ₹1.25 lakh to ₹1.57 lakh per year plus a separate development fee, depending on the specific college. This sits well below any private or deemed college fee, regardless of quota. Distinct national institutions on the same counselling calendar, such as Tata Memorial Centre and the Armed Forces Medical College, follow their own separate fee schedules and should not be averaged into the general government-college range.

FRA-Regulated Private (Non-Deemed) PG Medical Colleges

These colleges run through CET Cell counselling, and their base fee is the FRA-approved figure. The table below uses confirmed 2026-27 figures from Maharashtra’s official fee-revision rounds, reported in July and August 2026.

College Base MD/MS Fee 2025-26 Base MD/MS Fee 2026-27 Change
SMBT Institute of Medical Sciences, Igatpuri ₹16,34,000 ₹18,30,000 +₹1,96,000
Smt. Kashibai Navale Medical College, Pune ₹14,23,500 ₹15,66,000 +₹1,42,500
NKP Salve Institute of Medical Sciences, Nagpur ₹9,00,000 ₹10,08,000 +₹1,08,000
Terna Medical College, Navi Mumbai ₹9,00,000 ₹9,00,000 No change
MIMER Medical College, Talegaon Dabhade ₹9,00,000 ₹9,00,000 No change
K J Somaiya Medical College, Mumbai Not disclosed ₹13,20,000 Newly notified
Bombay Hospital Institute of Medical Sciences, Mumbai Not disclosed ₹11,00,000 Newly notified
ACPM Medical College, Dhule Not disclosed ₹9,00,000 Newly notified
Sanjeevan Medical College, Miraj Not disclosed ₹9,00,000 Newly notified
Dr. Ulhas Patil Medical College, Jalgaon Not disclosed ₹9,00,000 Newly notified
JIIU’s Indian Institute of Medical Sciences Research, Badnapur Not disclosed ₹9,00,000 Newly notified

These are base (state-quota) fees. Institutional-quota and NRI-quota seats at the same colleges are billed at the applicable FRA multiplier (currently up to 3× and 5× respectively, subject to confirmation) — always check the college’s official FRA-approved order for the exact institutional and NRI figures, since these are notified separately per college.

A few other frequently searched private colleges — Dr. Vasantrao Pawar Medical College (Nashik), Ashwini Rural Medical College (Solapur), B.K.L. Walawalkar Rural Medical College (Ratnagiri), and Rural Medical College, Loni — publish base MD/MS fees in the roughly ₹8.5–₹12 lakh range in college and aggregator disclosures. Treat these as indicative until you confirm the specific figure against the college’s current FRA order, since not every college’s 2026-27 fee has been consolidated in a single official source yet.

Deemed PG Medical Colleges (MCC-Counselled)

Deemed universities are outside FRA’s regulatory framework and set their own fee schedules, published through each university’s admission office rather than the state FRA portal. Course-wise fees at these institutions vary enormously by specialisation. Dr. D.Y. Patil Medical College, Navi Mumbai, illustrates the range well: its 2026-27 disclosed fees run from roughly ₹8.5 lakh a year for pre-clinical MD courses to ₹68.5 lakh a year for Dermatology, Radio-diagnosis, and Obstetrics & Gynaecology. Other deemed universities — Bharati Vidyapeeth (Pune and Sangli), Krishna Vishwa Vidyapeeth (Karad), MGM (Aurangabad and Navi Mumbai), and Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College (Wardha) — follow a similar pattern, with pre-clinical and para-clinical subjects priced far below high-demand clinical branches. Because deemed universities revise fees on their own cycle rather than the FRA’s, verify the exact current-year figure directly on the university’s official fee notification before treating any number as final.

Do Fees Differ by Specialisation?

Yes, and the gap can be large at the same institution. At Dr. D.Y. Patil Medical College, Navi Mumbai, an MD in Anatomy costs around ₹8.5 lakh a year, while MD in Skin and VD costs around ₹68.5 lakh a year — roughly an eight-fold difference within one campus. This pattern repeats at most deemed universities and several FRA-regulated private colleges: Radio-diagnosis, Dermatology, Orthopaedics, General Medicine, and Obstetrics & Gynaecology typically carry the highest fees, while Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, and Community Medicine stay at the lower end. The size of the gap varies by college, so confirm the specific course fee rather than assuming a flat institutional rate.

What Changed in the 2026-27 Fee Revision

Maharashtra issued fee revisions for different groups of private medical colleges during the 2026-27 fee-approval cycle, with separate tranches reported in July and August 2026. 

  • In the first tranche, NKP Salve Institute’s MD fee rose from ₹9 lakh to ₹10.08 lakh, and its NEET SS annual fee rose by ₹1.48 lakh to ₹13.84 lakh. 
  • In the second tranche, SMBT Institute recorded the sharpest MD/MS increase — up ₹1.96 lakh to ₹18.30 lakh — even as its MBBS fee fell by ₹81,500. Smt. Kashibai Navale Medical College’s MD/MS fee rose by ₹1.42 lakh. 
  • Terna Medical College and MIMER Medical College saw no change in their postgraduate fees. 
  • Several colleges, including K J Somaiya, Bombay Hospital Institute of Medical Sciences, ACPM Dhule, Sanjeevan Medical College, Dr. Ulhas Patil Medical College, and JIIU’s Indian Institute of Medical Sciences Research, had only their 2026-27 fee notified, with no prior-year figure available for comparison. 

Treat every fee figure in this article and any other source — as provisional until the specific college’s current official notification confirms it.

Choosing a Private PG College: Look Past the Fee Number

A lower fee doesn’t automatically make a college the right fit. Weigh these factors alongside the Maharashtra private medical college PG fees before finalising a preference list:

  1. Infrastructure and clinical exposure — Hospital bed strength and patient inflow shape hands-on training quality more than the brochure does.
  2. Faculty and research output — Departments with active publications and senior faculty add real value to a PG degree.
  3. Placement and stipend record — Ask current residents about post-PG placement support, not just the marketing page.
  4. Hostel and campus facilities — Daily living conditions affect three years of training, not just the first semester.
  5. Current NMC recognition and seat status — Maharashtra has been adding and revising PG seats through 2026, so confirm the specific course and seat carry current NMC approval before locking a choice, not just historical approval.

This selection process runs alongside your rank and cutoff expectations, which is where a clear picture of how NEET PG seats get allocated helps you set realistic targets before choice-filling opens.

Hostel Fees and Other Charges

Tuition is only part of the total cost. Hostel fees, mess charges, caution deposits, and administrative charges get billed separately from tuition at almost every private and deemed college, and they vary significantly by college, accommodation type, and category from modest amounts at some state-quota hostels to several lakh rupees a year at high-end deemed-university accommodation. Check the specific college’s current fee notice for the exact hostel and mess figure rather than relying on a single state-wide estimate and add caution deposits and development charges into your total budget rather than comparing tuition figures alone.

Refund and Fee Forfeiture Rules

Refund rules differ depending on which counselling body allotted the seat, so don’t apply one rule across both processes.

  • CET Cell (state quota and FRA-regulated private colleges): The registration fee is non-refundable once paid. The security deposit is generally refundable if a candidate exits within the permitted window of an earlier CAP round, but gets forfeited — sometimes along with a penalty — if the candidate fails to report after allotment, resigns past the round’s cut-off date, or breaches the counselling code of conduct. Exact deadlines shift round to round, so check the current CAP schedule rather than a fixed rule of thumb.
  • MCC (AIQ and deemed universities): MCC runs its own security-deposit and refund system on a separate timeline from the State CET Cell. Candidates registering for both processes should track each portal’s deadlines individually rather than assuming they align.

For a detailed breakdown of registration, choice filling, seat allotment and reporting, refer to our guide on Maharashtra NEET PG Counselling before making your counselling choices.

How Career Plan B Helps

Picking between a lower-fee state quota seat and a costlier institutional or NRI quota seat is a high-stakes call. 

Career Plan B supports NEET PG aspirants through Personalized Career Counselling, PsycheIntel and Career Assessment Tests, Admission and Academic Profile Guidance, and structured Career Roadmapping, so your college and specialisation choice fits your budget, aptitude, and long-term career goals rather than fee sheets alone.

Get In Touch With Us

Frequently Asked Questions 

Q1. What is the Maharashtra NEET PG private college fee structure 2026?
Base state-quota fees at FRA-regulated private colleges mostly run between ₹9 lakh and ₹18 lakh a year. Deemed university fees run wider, from around ₹8.5 lakh to over ₹65 lakh a year depending on the course.

Q2. How much do Maharashtra private medical college fees for NEET PG 2026 vary by quota?
State quota fees stay at the FRA-approved base rate. Institutional/management quota fees can run up to three times that base rate, and NRI quota fees up to five times, subject to the currently applicable FRA notification.

Q3. What is the Maharashtra NEET PG private college fee structure 2026 for deemed universities?
Deemed universities set their own fees outside the FRA’s state-quota framework and are counselled 100% through MCC. Clinical branches like Radio-diagnosis and Dermatology often exceed ₹40 lakh a year at top deemed colleges.

Q4. How does the Maharashtra FRA approve medical college fees each year?
The Fees Regulating Authority reviews each FRA-regulated college’s audited costs, infrastructure, and salary structure, then sets an approved fee ceiling the college cannot exceed for regulated seats. Deemed universities fall outside this process.

Conclusion

The Maharashtra NEET PG fee structure 2026 swings from a modest government-college fee to a deemed-university fee that can run into tens of lakhs a year for a single course. Matching your quota, specialisation, and budget before counselling begins protects you from a rushed, costly decision on allotment day. 

Talk to Career Plan B’s counsellors to map out a fee-smart, career-smart college strategy for NEET PG 2026.

Related posts